Pregnancy Pain and #LSWLClutterfree Update

care4them-pregnancy

As many of you are aware, we are expecting our first child in May of this year, and the pregnancy hasn’t been easy for me. Over the past 6 months, I have learned a lot about pregnancy. I want to share with you a few things that I have been reflecting on recently, and give you an update on my pregnancy journey and my #LWSLClutterfree tasks.

So what have I discovered during my pregnancy journey?

  1. Pregnancy takes over your body, whether it is ‘ready’ or not. For my next pregnancy, I am going to make sure that I am more prepared than I was when I conceived this time. I am currently unable to do many physical activities and some days I even struggle to manage the stairs. The severity of my limitations are not very common in all pregnancies, we all know we should avoid heavy lifting and take is easier towards the end of the pregnancy, but my physical limitations so early on took me by surprise. I wasn’t ‘ready’ to be on bedrest, I wasn’t ‘ready’ to give in the limitations that occur during pregnancy. Now, on top of the physical battles, I am also dealing with the mental battles that are occurring within me as I adjust to a different lifestyle which is having a massive impact on my emotions.

 

2. When pregnancy is meant to be a joy – the joy can get hidden. The emotional rollercoaster is real, at times it feels like the hormones are in control, and you just have to ride it out. In my journey, while dealing with the pain, sudden limitations, and change of lifestyle, I have found myself crying a lot more that usual. When normally I would be able to pick myself up and deal with hardship, I have found myself weak and emotional. I am overjoyed at being pregnant, this is what I have wanted for a long time. When I speak with people about being pregnant they see my joy, they don’t see the times when the hormones take over and the joy gets hidden.

3. Not every day of pregnancy is easy, but every day brings us closer to having our child in our arms. Pregnancy is a test of endurance, and to end it all is the labour, the hard work. I love watching ‘One Born Every Minute’ – is it really wise for me to watch it while pregnant?! I think so, because of the precious moment that happens time after time, the magical moment when the baby is placed in the mother’s arms. The peace, the joy, the tears!!! No matter how the labour goes, that moment is always the same and that is what spurs me on. Knowing that after I endure all that I need to, I will have our baby in my arms.

My limitations have meant that I sadly have had to put on hold my #LWSLclutterfree journey. I am looking forward to picking it back up after the baby is born – as if I won’t have anything else to do, right?!

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Pregnancy Pain and #LSWLClutterfree Update

Leave a Reply

